Skip to content

Profile Workshop: Personal Essay

October 26, 2010
by

Your personal essay should be just that, a short essay, not a couple of sentences. This could very well be the only chance you have to make an impression. Your profile essay should say a lot more than, “I am looking for a spouse to share my life with,” because if not, people are moving on.

Everyone on AMS is searching for a spouse. So what makes you different? What makes you special? What makes you YOU?

Here is an example of a poor personal essay by Gertrude:

I’m patriotic, love Jesus, and enjoy horseback riding. Looking for someone to share these joys and more with.

This isn’t awful, but we could do better.

My best friend describes me as the girl next door. I am extremely close to my family. I love my mama and I try to spend lots of time learning from her amazing grace and spirituality. I try to live each day mindful of the sacrifice He was willing to endure for us.

I’m enthusiastically involved in politics, but I’m not the type to pick a fight or be vicious. I enjoy listening to oldies music, especially early-American rock and roll. I have ridden horses since I was a small child and really enjoy it. A man who enjoys the same is a big bonus, but not necessary. I’m willing to teach someone who is willing to learn. 🙂

I go to Mass during the week as often as I can and I am active in my church’s young adult ministry. I work as a teacher and really enjoy it. Spending time with my nieces and nephews is one of my favorite things to do in my free time.

This personal essay is great. She shares some of her likes and interests, a little bit about her spirituality, and it isn’t so long that we’re tempted to just skim over it. It’s just enough to peak someone’s interest and leave them wanting to read her answers to the profile questions.

Take a look at your personal essay today. Maybe you haven’t even looked at it since the first day you joined! Things change, so make sure that your essay is up-to-date, interesting, and informative.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dennis permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:09 pm

    From what I’ve heard from some lady friends, I wouldn’t be surprised if the above post is real. Many women have told me that quite a few men haven’t put much effort into a profile (old photos, bad spelling, generic statements, incompleteness, etc.)

    Now, I’ll admit that if I see a profile that has several “I will answer later”, and it’s been posted for several months, I begin to wonder how serious someone is about being on AMS. I usually pass up incomplete profiles, because I like to read a profile that has more information about a person. I also like to see a photograph.

    Take the time to build a profile. It may take a few weeks – I remember redoing mine and it took at least a month.

    Also, when making an initial contact, make sure you write a sincere letter that shows you read the profile. It makes the recipient feel special, and in my experience, you are more likely to get a written response, even if it is a “thank you but I’ve met someone already”.

Anything to add?

